Press release: Ten Teachers in the Running for ICT in Education Awards

Published on: 2017-08-23

Return to press release index

The Internet Service Providers’ Association of SA (ISPA) announced this week that ten outstanding educators from around the country have been selected as finalists in its long-running ISPA SuperTeacher of the Year Awards.

Set to take place as part of next month’s annual iWeek Internet industry gathering, the ISPA SuperTeacher of the Year Awards are a highlight of South Africa’s ICT in education advocacy community. The iWeek event will be held from 4 to 7 September 2017 at the Southern Sun Elangeni and Maharani, a spectacular landmark on Durban’s Golden Mile.

The competition is managed by the Digital Education Institute (DEI), a non-profit educational organisation. The 2017 ISPA SuperTeacher of the Year competition gives educators an opportunity to showcase their skills in using Information Communication Technologies (ICT) to improve the educational environment in their classrooms, schools or communities.

According to Project Manager, Milford Malunga of DEI, “The required projects submitted by the ten ISPA SuperTeacher of the Year finalists reflect the growing influence and importance of the wider, all encompassing digital environment. The judges were impressed by the ability of the finalists to translate global technological advances into local practical applications.”

The ten educators selected as finalists will compete for the titles of ISPA SuperTeacher of the Year, ISPA TechTeacher of the Year and ISPA MobileTechTeacher of the Year and are as follows:

Anel Flack (Hoerskool Standerton), Peter Lekolwane (Diopong Primary School), Mokhudu Machaba (Ngwanamago Primary), Matema Jacobeth Malatji (Diopong Primary School), Marina Myburgh (Crawford College Sandton), Dimakatso Sefora (Saron), Mokgethoa Ingrid Sethemane (Mashile Primary), Amandla Vinjwa (Sivile Primary School), Mmatjie Olivia Rasehlo (Toronto Primary) and Flora Lepota Mokaba (Badimong Primary).

Several teachers are top achievers in previous ISPA SuperTeacher of the Year competitions. After participating in educator ICT training managed by DEI and sponsored by ISPA and its members, the above educators’ closing projects were judged to be the best amongst the many received that demonstrated the value of the teachers’ enhanced ICT skills.

To date, ISPA’s Train the Teacher project – managed with the assistance of DEI and its forerunners – has equipped some 5 000 teachers with ICT skills thanks to continued support from ISPA’s members.

South Africa’s longest-running ICT in education competition is sponsored by ISPA, a non-profit Internet industry representative body. A fixture of the annual iWeek programme is a gala dinner where the winners of the three categories in the prestigious ISPA SuperTeacher of the Year competition are announced from the ten finalists.

More information about the finalists can be found at

Further Information

For further information, please contact the ISPA secretariat on the Contact ISPA page.