ISPA has a long history of working closely with other industry bodies and Internet bodies. By partnering with these organisations, ISPA is better able to deliver on its mandate to represent its members’ interests.


INX-ZA is an autonomous division of ISPA, and operates the only completely community-run Internet exchange points in South Africa, namely the Johannesburg Internet exchange (JINX), Cape Town Internet Exchange (CINX) and Durban Internet Exchange (DINX).

The Internet exchanges (INXes) provide the only neutral facility for ISPs and operators of Internet Protocol (IP) networks to connect and exchange traffic in South Africa. The exchanges encourage the routing of domestic Internet traffic by providing an optimal path for traffic to reach other networks within the same city, country or continent. This reduces the usage of expensive long-distance links and improves network performance.


The Digital Education Institute (DEI) is a non-profit organisation operating from Johannesburg, which runs numerous educational projects, training initiatives and workshops across South Africa. DEI supplements the conventional models of teaching and learning by increasing access to Information Communication Technologies (ICT)  for both under-resourced and technology rich schools. ISPA and DEI collaborate on the SuperTeacher competition.


The Foundation for Internet Development (FID) was formed by UniForum SA, ISPA, WAPA and ISOC-ZA to provide a mechanism for ICT industry players that want to make a meaningful contribution in terms of Enterprise Supplier Development but do not have the capacity nor the platform to do so themselves. FID’s objective is to unite the ICT industry’s efforts in the development of resources and skills in accordance with the Broad-Based Black Economic Empowerment (B-BBEE) Code in order to broaden the impact.

FTTX Council Africa

Established in 2010, the FTTX Council Africa is an independent, not for profit organization and active member of the Fibre Council Global Alliance (FCGA) alongside the FTTX Council Europe, Asia Pacific, North America, Middle East and North Africa. The work of the individual FTTX Councils are funded through member contributions, and the FCGA has more than 550 member companies who share a common goal: the acceleration of Fibre to the Home adoption.

ISOC-ZA and ISOC Gauteng

These are the local chapters of the global Internet Society, a global professional membership organisation with more than 150 organisational members and 16,000 individual members in over 180 countries. The local chapters of ISOC represent the interests of South African Internet users and provide consumer focussed input into legislative processes which involve Internet issues.


The South African Banking Risk Information Centre (SABRIC) is a non-profit company formed by South Africa’s banks to combat organised bank-related crimes. SABRIC aims to be Africa’s trusted financial crime risk information centre leveraging on strategic partnerships. ISPA and SABRIC collaborate on cybersecurity initiatives.


WAPA was established in 2006 and is a non-profit body acting as a collective voice for independent wireless operators in South Africa. WAPA’s primary objective is to ensure the sustainability of the wireless access services market. WAPA has many members in common with ISPA.


The ZA Central Registry (ZACR) has been responsible for the registration of domain names since 1995, and now handles,,, .capetown, .durban, .joburg. ZACR is also a member of ISPA in its own right, and has also supported the roll-out of various domain name services at the INX-ZA Internet exchange points.


The .ZA Domain Name Authority (ZADNA) is the regulatory authority for the .ZA domain name, which is the top-level country-code assigned to South Africa. Created by the Electronic Communications and Transactions Act (2002), ZADNA is responsible for determining overall policy for the South African domain namespace.