Press release: New Crew To Steer ISPA Through Unchartered Waters

Published on: 2007-11-27

Return to press release index

The Internet Service Providers’ Association of South Africa (ISPA) has elected a new Management Committee (Mancom) to steer the association towards its primary goal of a level and competitive telecommunications playing field.

Heading up Mancom for the next twelve months are Joint Chairs Lynne Orrock (MTN) and Edwin Thompson (Verizon) while committee members include Marc Furman (Internet Solutions), Richard Heath (MWEB), Rob Hunter (Neotel), William Stucke (ZANet) and Jenny King (e-Schools’ Network). Co-opted ex offico members are Dave Gale (Storm Telecom), Ant Brooks (Future Foundation) and Elaine Zinn (Future Foundation).

The previous Mancom guided ISPA through a challenging period which ultimately culminated in several regulatory and legal achievements, most notably the Competition Tribunal’s June 2007 prohibition of Telkom’s attempted acquisition of BCX.

According to Joint Chair Lynne Orrock: “ISPA members owe a great deal to outgoing Joint Chair Greg Massel, in particular, who has served ISPA for many years and who will no doubt continue to provide valuable counsel through his rational and measured approach.”

The new Mancom and Working Group Chairs recently met to review strategy for ISPA, and formulate plans for 2008.

“A balanced approach has been a key ISPA trait since its inception more than a decade ago. ISPA has consistently and even doggedly pursued an agenda centred around transparency, competitiveness and fairness and there is every likelihood the new Mancom will continue to chart the same course,” said Joint Chair Edwin Thompson.

ISPA remains an active and effective representative body for ISPs in South Africa.

This is mainly as a result of dedicated effort by a group of passionate people who are prepared to commit time and effort. People such as have served on the Mancom over the years. It is fitting to take this opportunity to single out outgoing chairman Greg Massel for his contribution over the years.

The Internet Service Providers’ Association is a South African Internet industry body incorporated not for gain. ISPA currently has about 150 members, comprised of large, medium and small Internet service and access providers in South Africa. Formed in 1996, ISPA has historically served as an active industry body, facilitating exchange between the different independent Internet service providers, the Department of Communications, ICASA, operators and other service providers in South Africa.

Applying for ISPA membership is as easy as logging onto The basic requirements for membership as well as the categories and fee structure are clearly outlined under ISPA’s constitution. Applications are first assessed by ISPA’s membership working group and the management committee for approval.

Further Information

For further information, please contact the ISPA secretariat on the Contact ISPA page.