Press Release:

Dimakatso Sefora is named 2019 ISPA SuperTeacher of the Year at iWeek

Published on: 2019-08-28

Return to press release index

Dimakatso Sefora of Saron Primary School in Rustenburg, Northwest Province, was named as the 2019 ISPA SuperTeacher of the Year on the first day of iWeek (Monday, 26 August) at the Indaba Hotel and Conference Centre in Bryanston, Johannesburg.

Joining Ms Sefora at the winner’s podium was 2019 ISPA TechTeacher of the Year, Matthew Hains, of Saheti Secondary School in Senderwood, Gauteng. The two were amongst ten finalists competing for SA’s longest-running ICT in education accolade.

The eight other finalists were Louise Fullard of Hoerskool Bergvlam, Fiona Beal of The Rock Academy, Peggy Jona of Bakuba Primary, Lyneth Crighton of Brescia House, Anel Flack of Hoerskool Standerton, Mabore Lekalakala of Mapudithomo Primary, Lady Hadio Mei of Moedi Secondary and Leanne Bishop of Grantleigh School.

Members of the Judge Panel who attended the awards event included Shadi Mathosa (ICT in education specialist), Deon van Vuuren (branch co-ordinator for Curriculum in Mpumalanga), Megan Rademeyer (programme manager at SchoolNet SA), Dorcas Tabane (ISPA) and Gerald Roos (Directorate: LTSM Policy Development and Innovation – Digital Learning Framework)

As Mr Roos remarked: “These awards are very apt for rewarding teachers that are achieving high levels of competence in digital learning. They encourage a transformation of pedagogy and a deeper awareness and use of digital tools and resources for learning. It is therefore with great satisfaction that the judges congratulate all finalists in the ISPA SuperTeacher of the Year competition, and especially 2019 ISPA SuperTeacher, Dimakatso Sefora, and 2019 ISPA TechTeacher, Matthew Hains.”

Ms Sefora is a longtime participant in the ISPA SuperTeacher Awards and teacher training programme while this is the second time Mr Hains has been named ISPA TechTeacher.

The sponsors of the prizes included the Industrial Development Corporation (IDC) who

donated R25 000, SANParks, The Mighty Pen Education Magazine and ZADNA (The ZA Domain Name Authority).

The winners each received an ISPA trophy, a cash prize sponsored by the Industrial Development Corporation, four nights’ accommodation for four people at any national park in South Africa sponsored by SANParks, a subscription to the online magazine for teaching professionals, The Mighty Pen Education Magazine ( and a laptop and projector sponsored by ZADNA. Each finalist also received R1 000 each from the IDC.

“We congratulate the winners and all the participants in this year’s competition. We are very grateful to the sponsors for their support of teachers pioneering ICT in education and assisting learners to prepare for their adult lives as they navigate the Fourth Industrial Revolution,” said Milford Malunga, project manager at the competition administrator, the Digital Education Institute (DEI).

Mr Malunga also thanked Andile Tlhoaele for his valued services as Master of Ceremonies, as well as Peter Madavhu (acting CEO for ZADNA) and Moloko Malahlela, Deputy Chief Education Specialist (Gauteng), for presenting the prizes.

To be selected as finalists in the ISPA SuperTeacher of the Year Awards, teachers were required to register online and submit ICT-related lesson plans for consideration by the panel.

Many of the teachers had participated in the ISPA Sponsor A Teacher programme, focusing on ICT training managed by DEI and sponsored by the Internet Service Providers’ Association of SA (ISPA) and its members.


The finalists’ closing projects were judged to be the best amongst the many received that demonstrated the value of the teachers’ newly acquired ICT skills.

The ISPA SuperTeacher Awards are an annual feature of the iWeek Internet industry conference and exhibition. Details on iWeek and its line-up are available at

Further Information

For further information, please contact the ISPA secretariat on the Contact ISPA page.