ISPA Co-chair Appointed to National Broadband Advisory Council

Graham Beneke, co-chair of the Internet Service Providers’ Association (ISPA) has been appointed to the National Broadband Advisory Council. Beneke has welcomed his appointment, saying it presents a good opportunity for ISPA to provide an industry perspective as the country’s broadband policy is implemented.

“As the industry body representing the country’s Internet Service Providers, ISPA has much practical insight to offer, and also provides a ready-made channel through which the Council and the Minister can communicate with an important role-player in the world of broadband,” Beneke says. “Improving access to broadband, particularly the speeds on offer, is a vital part of enabling growth, and ISPA is pleased to be involved.”

The National Broadband Advisory Council was launched by the former Minister of Communications, Yunus Carrim, on 4 March 2014. At the Council’s inaugural meeting, it was agreed that representation from the industry would be beneficial, and Beneke’s appointment followed. The Council is chaired by Dr Sibusiso Sibisi, president of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), with Professor Alison Gillwald as deputy chair.

The full list is as follows:

  1. Sibusiso Sibisi (Chairperson) – CSIR
  2. Alison Gilwald (Deputy Chairperson) – Research ICT Africa
  3. Sunil Maharaj – University of Pretoria
  4. Jesse Maluleke – Toproot
  5. Arthur Goldstuck – World Wide Worx
  6. Bernie Fanaroff – SKA Project South Africa
  7. Geoffrey Qhena – IDC
  8. Mlamli Booi – Z-Comms
  9. Mandla Msimang – Pygma Consulting
  10. Laurens Cloete – CSIR
  11. Loren Braithwaite-Kabosha – SACF
  12. Graham Beneke – ISPA
  13. Christopher Forlee – BP South Africa
  14. James Hodge – Genesis Analytics
  15. Phillipa Biggs – ITU
  16. Tim Kelly – World Bank
  17. Rosey Sekese – DoC
  18. Simphiwe Makhathini – DPE
  19. Arvril Halstead – National Treasury

Published: Wednesday, June 4th, 2014

Issued By:
Name: Ivan Booth
Company: Reliable Sources PR
Phone Number: 082 851 7419
Email Address:

More Info :
Name: Elaine Zinn
Company: ISPA Secretariat
Phone Number:
Email Address:

Contact Details

Tel: 010 500 1200 or 087 550 1200
Fax: +27 (0) 87 606 4066
Email: queries [at]